Finally, my chili recipe

Hey all! Been a very long time since I posted anything here. I get enough requests for recipes that I wanted to put this one in an easy place to share. So here it is! It’s very basic chili, but it’s good an hearty. Goes great over a baked potato, or a pile of mashed sweet potatoes, or a bowl of cauliflower rice.

This recipe scales very well, so I’m going to write it for 1 pound of ground beef but rest assured that you can just multiply it to get it to whatever amount you want to make. The basic recipe originally called for 2 pounds, but I rarely start with less than 4 or 5 anymore.

Basic Paleo Chili

1 lb ground beef

1 tbsp fat (butter, coconut oil or my personal favorite: bacon fat)

1 medium onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp roasted green chiles, diced

1 can (14.5 oz) crushed or diced tomatoes

1 tsp salt

½ tsp Italian seasonings

1 ½ tsp paprika

2 tsp chili powder

Put the bacon fat into the pot and melt it over medium-high heat. Add onion, garlic and chiles. Cook until the onions are cooked through, or longer if you want to brown them a little (I usually do). Add the beef and stir. Cook until the beef is brown, or longer to cook off most of the remaining liquid. Add the can of tomatoes and the seasonings, and stir. Turn heat to medium-low. From this point, you’re really just cooking down to your desired level of thickness. I usually simmer at least two hours, but you can cook longer or shorter depending on your preferences.

That’s it! Easy enough to do multiple times a week if you’re us, and it scales beautifully. I’ve made it with as much as 12 pounds of beef (with everything else increased to match) and it works great.
Original recipe here: http://easypeas-y.blogspot.com/2012/04/paleo-chili.html

This entry was posted in Recipes.

Leave a comment