All links all the time!

Okay, so I’ve gotten a few other things done recently, but not a ton. I cooked up some steaks, made a pot roast, ate a metric load of broccoli with clarified butter and generally hung out. Life is good and pretty tame. I did finally make another batch of mayo and took pictures, but I haven’t uploaded them yet. Such a slacker! I’ll get it, though. And this mayo is primarily for use as an ingredient to make dressings, so I’ll probably have to make more of it for use in tuna salad and the like. I might even do video of the next batch, since I’m not thinking the pictures are really doing it justice. We’ll see.

I also wanted to mention (read: gloat) that I got my review copy of Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo of Balanced Bites! I just grabbed it out of my mailbox on the way to work so I haven’t had time to read it yet. I just looked at the cover and it’s gorgeous! Can’t wait to get home tonight and dig in. I’ll write up a proper review here once I’ve got more to say. So excited!

Okay, just links today! I’ve been reading like mad and I’ve got a giant pile of links to share. I hope you’re ready for a drink from the fire hose!

Want to lose fat? Count your hormones, not your calories – I think this article really makes a lot of sense, and I love seeing something that isn’t the standard “energy balance” paradigm in a mainstream news source.

Should cities allow backyard chickens? – Yes. Yes, they should. What about concerns about noise and smell, or about the animals getting out and spreading disease? As for noise and smell, how would the city handle a noisy or smelly animal that didn’t lay eggs? There are already rules in place governing this stuff, and there’s no reason to ban a whole class of animals because they might cause a problem we already know how to solve. The same holds true for the animals escaping or spreading disease. If the city allows, dogs, cats, hamsters, rabbits, etc as pets, then it has no reason to worry more about chickens than any of those. What if your homegrown hens caught the bird flu and then ran off to a factory farm and gave it to all those chickens? First off, those chickens are so doped up on antibiotics I wouldn’t worry too much about it, but if my homegrown chicken can get access to them, then certainly any other bird could as well. Is the city going to outlaw all birds now to protect a chicken-torturer? I would hope not.

How did we come to believe saturated fat and cholesterol are bad for us? – Dr. Attia is awesome, as always. He does the run through the history of nutritional science, which we’ve seen before from other sources. I like his take on it, and I think he’s an excellent speaker, so this might be my new primary when I want to send someone a scholarly view of the topic. Fat Head will still be my go-to for the fun ones, though, because Tom Naughton is my homeboy (I really wish Tom Naughton was my homeboy).

F-lux – Such a cool idea!

Jerky: It’s so paleo – It really is, and it’s also delicious. I’ve been making noises about making my own for a while, but after having had some store-bought stuff this weekend, I’m re-inspired to make it happen. Look for it before too long, hopefully!

Amount of meat we eat will barely affect future climate change – As a rebuttal to the argument that “Everyone can’t eat paleo, so nobody should” (does that kind of nonsense even need a rebuttal? Well we have one, just in case.) this article shows that the difference made by reducing our meat consumption would be minimal, and pales in comparison to other changes we might make. So there.

Tim Noakes on the Serious Problem of Overhydration in Endurance Sports – An interview with a doctor who says we shouldn’t be drinking as much as we’ve been told during exercise. Definitely an interesting piece! brings some evolutionary theory into the mix too, which I dig on, of course.

Homemade Bacon – This. I want to do this. Because he’s right. Finding humanely-raised pork is a trick, Niman Ranch bacon being sold at Costco notwithstanding. I would love to try this out sometime, and see what real, quality, traditional bacon really tastes like.

Does Sunlight Prevent Myopia? – Mark Sisson tackles a question I’ve been wondering about. If our ancestors lived in the sun (and they did) then mustn’t we have some methods in place to deal with sun exposure to the eye without damage? It sounds like beyond that, getting out into bright sunlight is actually good for our eyes, rather than being harmful. Which honestly makes sense. Sun on the skin does us so much good, why should our eyes need to be in a cave while our body benefits from being on the beach? Just don’t look at the sun for over an hour. It’ll burn your eyes out.

Hot or not? Potato Board Tries to un-Dud the Spud – I like this article for a couple of reasons. For one, it shows that people seem to be paying attention to some of the good info out there about maybe they should cut back on the carbs. Second, it shows that when gov’t actually tried to limit potato consumption by kids in school lunches, the potato lobby stepped in and stopped it.

5 High Fat Foods to make You Skinny – Another mainstream media piece that’s not fat-phobic! Good stuff, for sure, even though I’d love to see them stop calling saturated fats unhealthy. We can’t always get what we want, but it’s still a great step in the right direction.

Okay, that should do it for now. Enjoy, and thanks for reading!

2 comments on “All links all the time!

  1. katina says:

    Based on your Chicken comment, i assume you’re also against Breed Bans as well (good!)

    • Septimus says:

      Very much so. I hate layered laws. I think people should be punished when something they do _actually_ harms someone else, not just because it’s potentially harmful. That way lies madness.

Leave a Reply

