We be jammin’, but less so

Okay, so a couple nights ago I ate the tiny little bit of jamsicle that I’d frozen in a cup. It was good. Crazy sweet, but good. Too sweet, though, to eat a whole popsicle’s worth in a sitting. And this coming from the man who used to consider a one-pound bag of Skittles ‘one serving’. Anyway, I have to figure this out. So I melted the popsicles into the measuring cup again, and added a can of coconut milk. I whisked it all together, then poured it back into the popsicle molds and, since there was more volume than previously, I also ended up making a few extra tiny cups on the side. It all went into the freezer overnight.

In the morning, it was glorious. The coconut cut the sweetness just right, and added a bit of coconut flavor that worked well with the strawberry. It also really helped the pops to freeze to the sticks, which was an issue I hadn’t anticipated with the original jamsicles, but which became apparent when I was trying to pull them out to let them thaw. So I think it was a success, overall. Unfortunately, Jenna didn’t really care for them, which sort of defeats the purpose. D’oh! Back to the drawing board, I guess. Maybe just the strawberry puree with the honey, without anything being cooked down? Or maybe half the strawberry puree cooked down and the other half not? We’ll see. Sounds like a series of delicious experiments, to me.

Speaking of which, I also created a batch of ranch dressing based on Mark Sisson’s recipe. I’ve only tasted it, and haven’t actually used it for anything properly yet, so I’m not sure how it’ll pan out. I’m a little worried that it will be too much dairy for me, unfortunately. I hear there’s a way to make a mayonnaise-based ranch dressing that I may have to work out. In any case, I made this one and it definitely does taste like ranch dressing!

I also wanted to let you all know that I’ve bumped up my pullups and squats to the next level. Now I’m doing horizontal pulls and jackknife squats. Interesting stuff, for sure! My knees make horrible noises at me when I get into a full squat position, but there’s no pain or discomfort, just a lot of sound. I’m taking it very slowly, of course, and will see if the full range squats seem to be causing me any pain as I ramp up my numbers on them. If so, I might have to do just half squats or something for a while while I build up the strength of the connective tissue in there. If it continues even past that, I’ll probably have to have them looked at.

Okay, link time!

Everything in Moderation – This is good. Moderation is a useless term unless it is defined, and by its very nature, it is never defined. You can use it to justify a big piece of cake after an already big meal, or you can use it to justify skipping a workout. Oddly enough, people rarely use this thinking to justify a little extra salad or 10 more pushups.

Why Aren’t Humans Adapted to Grains? – Yes, this is awesome. Fantastic explanation.

Barbecuing may be traditional, but is it healthy? – I’ve seen articles similar to this a number of times and figured I’d finally post one up here. This one is pretty comprehensive, comparatively, so it makes sense to go with it over some of the others. In any case, I’m not going to stop grilling, but I have definitely moved to indirect heat to avoid getting any charred meat/fat on my steaks and burgers. I also don’t grill all that much in the grand scheme. Maybe once a week, on average? And it’s always with indirect heat anymore, so I’m hoping that I’m at least reducing whatever nasties are in there. My overall take on this is that I could probably optimize my diet and avoid some nasty stuff by not grilling anymore, but it really isn’t worth it to me. With my current balance of good food, good sleep, moderate exercise and decent sun exposure, I’m about a kerblillion lightyears ahead of where I was last year, health-wise. I’ll continue improving, but I don’t think I’m going to give up grilling entirely at any point. I have so many other areas i could improve first that I know are doing more harm.

Wasp Spraying – This is just a cool idea. Just spray them far away from me, please.

Evolutionary Medicine 101 – Great piece! He touches on a number of issues, and brings up a wide range of concepts that I think should definitely be on them inds of medical students. “Normal” and average shouldn’t mean the same thing. The average cholesterol level of an unhealthy population isn’t likely to be the optimal level, but we tend to assume that we can push everyone towards the middle of the bell curve and make them healthier. Doesn’t really make sense when you think about it, but too few people really think about it, I fear.

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part VIII – Dr. Attia’s back, this time with a discussion about whether there is any benefit to testing blood lipid parameters outside the traditional panel. He says yes, but a recent report says no. I’m inclined to agree with him on this one, and he gives great explanations for why he thinks there’s good reason to test other aspects of cholesterol.

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part IX – What should you eat to delay the onset of cardiovascular disease? Dr. Attia runs through the literature on this one, pulling the best information we have available to see what really causes CVD and what we can do to help reduce our risks of developing CVD for ourselves. You might have guessed that it involved cutting sugars, because I think we all know at this point that sugar’s pretty bad for us, especially in the vast quantities that make up the SAD. Almost done with this series!

Egg Turkey Cups – Okay, I dig these.

All done! Thanks for reading and we’ll catch up soon. Enjoy!

One comment on “We be jammin’, but less so

  1. grassfedbison says:

    I gotta say, that was a pretty awesome collection of links. Now, I agree with pretty much everything that was said, so that might just be confirmation bias talking, but I’m inclined to think not.

    Anyway, because of content like this, I’ve nominated you for the “One lovely Blog Award” here:
    http://grassfedbison.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/a-thank-you-and-an-award/

    Check it out!

Leave a Reply

