Accidental Strawberry Jamsicles

Yeah, that’s what I said. So my wife loves her some strawberry popsicles, right? Like for realsies. I’ve tried a few different formulations, including one where i simply pureed frozen strawberries and poured them into the molds. Those tasted much like you’d imagine they would. They were okay, but they weren’t really what she’d been craving. I ate them all, of course, but I’ve been wanting to try something else for her. For one, because I’m thinking that we could likely save ourselves some money by making our own, and also because I’d rather see her eating something made with quality ingredients. I’d love to wean her off the sweets, but she’s a grown-ass woman who can do what she wants. As long as she’s going to be eating them, it’s better if shes at least eating real food sweets instead of corn syrup and the like, and that’s something I can help with.

So, that’s why I tried something else last night. We got a couple pounds of organic strawberries on sale from the grocery. They weren’t the prettiest things, but certainly worthy of going into the food processor. I also grabbed some of our local, raw, unfiltered honey. I’m not basing this on any sort of recipe, mind you, I’m just playing around here. Okay, let’s get started.

Strawberry Jamsicles

Ingredients:

  • 2 Lbs. Organic Strawberries
  • 1/2 cup Honey

Here we go. Two packages of strawberries and some honey.

Wash ’em up, cut the tops off and put them into your food processor. Probably a blender would work, too? Puree until they’re pretty much just a smooth liquid.

Yeah, that’s it. When it looks like this, you’re done pureeing.

Now get your 1/2 cup of honey. Pour that and the puree into a saucepan. The mixture will expand a bit as it cooks, so use a bigger one than you think you’ll need. I used my 8-qt pot and that was perfect.

Okay, there you go. Whisk the honey into the puree and turn the stove onto medium-low. You can push to medium and it’ll go faster, but you run the risk of burning it if you don’t sit right there and stir constantly. I wanted to be free to go do other things, so I left mine on medium low and just came back to stir every few minutes.

When it starts to simmer, it’ll look like this. There’s a lighter-colored sort of foam that rises to the top. You just keep simmering and stirring until that starts to go away. That’s how you know you’ve cooked off most of the water, and you’re getting where you want to be.

As you keep stirring, you’ll notice that the foam takes over the surface every time you stir, and then when you let it sit for a while, the bubbles breaking the surface will move the foam out of the way, showing the darker red underneath. You just stir it up again and again until there’s no longer any foam on the surface.

That’s it. When it looks like this, you’re all done. There’s no more foam, just a red glaze that looks kinda shiny.

Okay, I poured the glaze into this measuring cup because it has a spout on it so I can pour it into my molds more easily. If you wanted to ladle it out or something, this step isn’t actually necessary. You want to cool this a bit, just enough so you don’t damage your molds. You can stick it in the fridge for a few hours or do what I did and just bury it in a bowl of ice.

Now that the glaze is cool, you can pour it into your molds. I think I mentioned before that I have this set and really like them a lot. I’ve used them several times and they work great.

There you go. I leave some pace for expansion at the top. The extra goes into tiny little cheapy Glad storage cups that also go into the freezer.

Pop your handles on, put in the freezer overnight, and enjoy!

Now here’s the thing. These are called Jamsicles because they taste like strawberry jam. Legit. it’s like you just got a spoon out and dug into a jar of strawberry jam. If that’s your jam, so to speak, then more power to you. You will not be disappointed. it’s actually too sweet for us, though. I wouldn’t have thought that half a cup of honey would be too much for that many strawberries. The ice cream recipe I’ve been using called for 1/4 cup of honey per one 16-oz can of coconut milk, and this stuff is easily double that volume, even once it’s cooked down. Sure the strawberries themselves are going to be sweet, but that sweet? I guess so. So my options are these. Power through these and deal with the mind-shattering sweetness that goes along with them, or I can re-melt my pops, mix in a can or two of coconut milk, and then re-make them. I’m thinking I’ll try the second option. I like to do fat with my sweets when possible to slow down the digestion so I don’t hit my system quite so hard. Next batch, I’ll try zero honey and see how that tastes, and maybe it’ll end up being sweet enough or maybe it’ll end up being 1/4 cup of honey that works better. In any case, I’ll keep experimenting and let you know.

How about some more links? Yes, have some.

(Re)defining Paleo – This is awesome. Legit. You should read this and understand it. It’s such a great primal primer, I think it should come on a card so we can all just pull it out and read it to anyone who asks us about it. She covers everything, really. She doesn’t rely on evolutionary theory, doesn’t demand low-carb, and allows for personal variation. A masterpiece, I say.

A Pressure Cooker for the 21st Century – This looks so cool! I really like the idea of a one-stop shop for slow cooking, steaming, browning, etc. Right now we have a number of different machines doing those jobs, and simplifying would be pretty great. Amazon offers it for $120 with free shipping, here.

New Study: Is a calorie a calorie? – You might have seen this study recently, and Dr. Guyenet has a neat summary of it with his thoughts. It goes to show that some diets seem to fare better than others when it comes to maintaining weight loss after a significant drop. As always, I like Dr. Guyenet’s take on this stuff, since he adds a measured view that isn’t specifically tied to either paleo or low-carb, which tend to be the two groups I most associate with.

Good science, bad interpretation – Dr. Attia goes after the same study, and really explains it well. He differs with Dr. Guyenet in that he thinks it does show significant benefits to carbohydrate restriction. Reading both takes on it is fascinating, as I love both of these guys.

Reading the Scientific Literature – Helpful piece by Dr. Feinman discussing how you can spot bad science.

Okay, let’s call it good there. Thanks for reading!

3 comments on “Accidental Strawberry Jamsicles

  1. Jill says:

    These look good! I like that you use honey instead of sugar. Yum!

    • Septimus says:

      Thanks! Honey is kind of amazing. I try to use it whenever I need a sweetener, but for these it almost seems like I didn’t need any at all! Next batch will be without any added sweetener and I’ll see how they turn out. Fingers crossed!

      • Jill says:

        I looove honey. I also try to use it as a sweetener, even using it in muffins and stuff like that instead of sugar. It’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

