A collection of links

Back again! I took off work most of last week and since work is where I do most of my blogging, things got quiet. I wasn’t quiet, though.

I’ve continued with my Convict Conditioning progression and have reached the progression standard on two of my exercises. They are the vertical pull and the shoulderstand squat. Both are very easy, which is kind of the point, and i was able to concentrate on getting my form and cadence right for them. I’m going to move on in both of those series, and I’m hoping to be ready to move forward on pushups and knee raises within the next few weeks, too. I can see how people might get bored with the slow progression, and I think I probably would’ve been bored of it as well at most times in my life. For right now, though, it really works with my schedule and my goals. it’s all about timing, right?

I’ve tried a few new recipes, some of which I liked better than others. This one was really good, though I think I need to make a few changes next time, since it didn’t come out as well for me as I would’ve liked. It’s a Skillet Hash and Eggs. If you’re not into white potatoes, you could definitely use sweet potatoes to make it more paleo. Or hey, leave the potatoes out entirely and do cauliflower or something. I’m just spit-balling here. You can also add cheese to it if cheese is your thing. here’s what I did wrong, so hopefully you can avoid the same mistake: I microwaved my potatoes as directed. That was a bad idea. They didn’t need to be cooked ahead of time, and they just ended up being kinda half-baked by the time I started trying to peel them. So lame. Because of this, I had to cut them fairly large, as they simply weren’t stable enough to cut into small chunks. next time, I’ll cut them quite small (1/4″-1/2″ chunks, probably using my v-slicer) and won’t pre-cook at all. i think the texture would be better, and it would mean less work on my part. Winning all around. I also cooked this in my enameled cast iron dutch oven, which I love, but which is a bit too deep for this application. Next time I’ll just use my regular cast iron skillet, at least until I get myself one of these: Le Creuset Enameled Cast Iron Skillet I did really like pre-cooking the sausage and onions in the butter, so I think I’ll stick with that for sure. I’m also thinking about frying up my eggs separately. Issue here is that my wife likes her yolks solid and I like mine runny, especially in a hash-type situation. So frying the eggs separately and then just putting them on top seems like a reasonable solution. I’ll keep trying and get back to you. All in all, this was a really delicious breakfast option. I’m thinking I might mix it up a bit, too. Maybe use some Beeler’s Breakfast Sausage links instead of kielbasa or something to make it even more breakfasty. If you try this, let me know how it works for you!

Okay, that’s enough of that. Links, now?

Low Carb vs Low Fat Studies – This is cool, primarily because it comes from Lifetime. I mentioned before that their head of weightloss is a fan of low-carb so I’m not super surprised by this. Still, every time I see them focusing more on what really works and less on what the USDA tells them should work, I get happy.

Genetic Engineers Explain Why GE Food is Dangerous – Does what it says on the tin. Very much worth reading.

Why Cavemen Didn’t Die Young – Some of the arguments in here are better than others, and there’s one key point that wasn’t made. Evolution requires that a significant number of the members of a species die before they reach reproductive age. If everyone gets there, there’s no natural selection. There’s no survival of the fittest. There’s genetic drift, and that’s all. A significant number of a species dying at 25 when they reach sexual maturity in the 12-16 range, have 1-2 children at a time, gestate for 9-10 months, and go 2-3 years between babies doesn’t make any sense at all, honestly. Anyone who actually survives to sexual maturity would need to live a nice long time and have many children in order for the species to survive and evolve. Make sense? So all this nonsense about paleolithic humans dying early is exactly that. They had hard lives, and many, many individuals would have died young due to illness, injury, deformity or simply not being able enough to survive the world around them. People who fail to understand this fact, and the effect that it will have on a mean lifespan, aren’t really playing with a full deck.

Paleo Diet: Can We Really Eat Like Our Ancestors Did? – Like this fellow. He doesn’t get it. He really doesn’t get it. He’s convinced that anyone advocating a paleo diet needs to be eating mammoth steaks. That’s a good indicator for you. Anyone writing about the paleo diet who brings up the deplorable lack of mammoth steak in the world is a jackass, pretty much guaranteed. The really funny thing is that almost all of the detractors make all the same points, that even a very basic perusal of Robb’s or Mark’s sites would clarify for them. They insist upon citing Loren Cordain’s original book from 10 years ago, which I think most of us would agree isn’t exactly the cutting edge of paleo thinking. They insist upon pretending that paleo diet adherents are all walking around eating raw steak, even though that is a very, very small minority of paleo eaters. They always bring up the short average lifespan of paleolithic humans. It would be one thing if they found ways to be creatively ignorant, but they’re remarkably consistent and remarkably consistent in thinking that they are incredibly bright and original with their “refutations” of the paleo perspective. Anyway, it’s just one more article I found that I thought I’d share in case you hadn’t gotten your dose of rage today.

The Paleo Diet is Uncivilized and Unhealthy and Untrue – This is another one, and one that I got about three paragraphs into before I stopped reading in disgust. I can handle ignorance, because I can’t fault someone for not knowing about a given topic. But willful ignorance? Someone seemingly taking pride in their astonishing lack of anything approaching even the most rudimentary understanding of a topic? That bugs me. Especially when it comes from a major media source and an MD who is probably respected in some circles. So hopefully he gets ripped to shreds in the comments, but I honestly don’t have the patience to read them.

Exclusive Leaked Documents: American Dietetic Association is Intentionally Using State Legislatures to Block Alternative Nutrition Providers and Restrict Free Speech – That’s a long title, but it’s a good read. You’ve probably heard about the blogger who got warned to stop giving advice to folks over the phone/internet because he wasn’t a registered dietician, right? Well it sounds like that wasn’t a fluke. It’s exactly what the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics wants to see done across the nation. Seriously, this is almost too bizarre to believe, but in a way I’m not surprised.

Okay, that’ll do it for now. Thanks for reading!

2 comments on “A collection of links

  1. flamidwyfe says:

    Just spent 2 hours mostly on the last link and the links within that Forbes article. Wow! I love how the author calls Tuma out. Thank you for sharing the links.

Leave a Reply

