Cold Showers and Warm Mayo

Well the mayo wasn’t actually warm this time. At least not especially warm. I wanted to do one more experiment before I bring you the big bad mayo showdown. Last time, as you know, I used my bacon fat (warmed up to make it liquid, which is why my first attempt at mayo was indeed quite warm) and some extra-light tasting olive oil. And it was good, for sure. But I wanted something a little more basic. Something that anyone can do and that would be more repeatable. So I went with just the olive oil this time. I also didn’t take pictures, because i was lazy and thought that if I didn’t document my failure that means it didn’t happen.

Anyway, I had some issues with this batch. I used this recipe: Paleo Mayo Which is very similar to what I did last time, except with the bacon fat. This time, though, I tried to measure my oil. Here’s a tip: don’t do that. When I measured out a cup of oil and poured it in, I was foolish and thought I was done. The mayo was definitely emulsified, as it was hanging together and looking creamy, but it was still really liquidy. I thought that maybe it would firm up after a few hours in the fridge. It did not. So I called my resident culinary expert and asked her what was up. She said she’d never heard of this problem before. That’s me, exploring new territory in Failtopia. Anyway, I figured maybe I hadn’t used enough oil? So I put it all back into the food processor and added more oil. That didn’t seem to be working. Then I was thinking that maybe I didn’t have enough egg? I added another egg. That didn’t do it. Then I went back to adding oil. I added a lot more, and things started to thicken up. I ended up using the entire container of oil by the time I was done, but the mayo had finally thickened properly. So just a word to the wise, don’t measure your oil. Just keep adding until it gets the right consistency.

Okay, so there’s that. Once I cruise through the now-monster-sized batch of mayo, I promise there will be pics, maybe video. I want to help you do this right, because it is apparently pretty easy to do it wrong. Either that or it’s actually really hard to screw up and I’m just awesome at being terrible. Either way, I’ll try to help you not be like me.

I’ve also been reading a book called “The Flinch” after hearing Robb Wolf interview the author on the Paleo Solution Podcast. Anyway, I enjoyed the interview, the book is free, and I started reading it. This prompted me to start taking cold showers this week, which I’ve now done four days in a row. Here’s what I’ve noticed about cold showers:

Benefits of cold showers

  • 1. Don’t have to wait for the water to warm up
  • 2. You tend not to dawdle in there
  • 3. Invigorating and energizing
  • 4. You can do it while the laundry or dishwasher is running
  • 5. Saves energy
  • 6. May help to burn fat
  • 7. Mirrors don’t steam up
  • 8. Less inhalation of gaseous chlorine from steam (Thanks, Amanda!)

Disadvantages of cold showers

  • 1. Uncomfortable at first

Yeah, that’s pretty much it. I’m not sure if I’ll continue them indefinitely, but I really do enjoy them in kind of a weird way. It also helps that I’m running the Tough Mudder on Sunday, which features lots of cold water. I’m hoping that taking these cold showers will help condition me a bit so the cold water isn’t as big a shock to my system as it was last year. Fingers crossed.

I will note that I am back down to 208.4 lbs as of this morning, which feels nice. I look and feel much leaner than I had been recently, and that’s good all around. I’ve been better about my food recently, which is probably enough to explain the weight loss, but maybe the cold showers have something to do with it? Tough to say, obviously, but they don’t seem to be hurting.

Okay, that’s all I have for you kids right now. Well actually, I have a giant, towering pile of links i want to share, but i don’t have time to do them all justice, so we’ll save them for later. Hopefully soon! Thanks for reading, everyone.

2 comments on “Cold Showers and Warm Mayo

  1. Katina says:

    just thinking about a cold shower makes me cold. In case you didn’t already know, I don’t do cold.

    • Septimus says:

      It actually helped a great deal in preparing for the Tough Mudder. Jumping into a dumpster full of icewater was still kinda rough, but not as bad as it would have been otherwise.

Leave a Reply

