Post-race update and links

Hey guys! Just wanted to post up a bunch of links and give you a bit of an update on how things are in my world.

First off, I ran the Bolder Boulder this weekend, and came in with my fastest time to date. I ran 10K in 58:17 this year. Not bad for not having trained, eh? I think I actually ran maybe a handful of time in the past 6 months, and still managed to put up a decent time. Being so much lighter definitely helped, as last year I think I was in the 235-240 lbs range. My legs are definitely still hurting, but it’s nothing I can’t handle. It just means I worked them well. Also, I’m definitely inspired to keep up with my sprintervals. I enjoy them, and I do think they helped me, since I’m sore now in all the same places I’m usually sore after a sprint workout. I’m also thinking that I’ll make a concerted effort to clean up the garage and/or basement enough this weekend that I can put my rowing machine somewhere and leave it intact. I mean, I want to work out, but my desire for fitness in no way overcomes my natural laziness. If I have to drag my equipment out and set it up before I actually use it, that whole process has  a 0% chance of happening. Welcome to my mind, try not to run screaming into the night.

What else? Oh, I actually finished my whole batch of mayonnaise. I’m as shocked as anyone. It was a lot, and I couldn’t think of what I was going to use it for. I ended up doing a lot of tuna salad, since I’ve been wanting to eat more fish. And I have been! And the mayo definitely helped. Here’s the cool thing, though. When I used to be afraid of fat, I would only use a smidgen of light Miracle Whip in my tuna. It wasn’t great. Then when I learned that fat was good, I thought “Awesome, I’ll just use as much of this stuff as I want!” That’s not true, though, because it’s all soybean oil and that’s junk. So then I went back to only using a little, if I used it at all. But when I made my own out of good quality fats and pastured eggs, I realized that there was no reason not to use as much as I wanted. So I went nuts. And I actually cruised through that whole batch of mayo in maybe a week. This is very good news, because now I’m less afraid of making my own mayo. If I can actually finish it, and if I make it with good ingredients, that’s a legitimately delicious, healthy food. So next batch, which will be coming soon, I’ll take a lot of pictures and share it with all of you. Hooray!

Okay, let’s get to links.

Change is Coming – Tom Naughton, as always, is awesome. I’m glad people are listening to him, because the way he explains things just makes sense, and can make otherwise difficult concepts easy to understand. The more people who listen to Tom, the better off we’ll all be. Especially if the people listening to Tom are also in a position to spread his message to their own clients.

Tom Nikkola’s posts on the Lifetime Fitness blog – This is kind of a spinoff from the last link. Lifetime Fitness is a huge gym, at least in my neck of the woods. Big like 24-Hour Fitness, but kinda swanky. And this is the director of nutrition and weight management, going on the low-carb cruise and talking about low-calorie diets being futile. This is awesome. I read some of Tom’s posts and they’re really solid stuff. I love that he’s promoting this stuff, and that he’s in a position where he might actually be able to make something happen.

Could You Really Live the Primal Life? – It’s a fair question, and my answer is a vehement “No”. I would simply miss my lathe too much.

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part VI – Dr. Attia changed the name of his blog, from waroninsulin.com to eatingacademy.com, though it appears that all subscriptions and all still work and the old url forwards to the new one. Anyway, this is the next in the series, and he talks about why we need to be measuring and paying attention to LDL-P in addition to (or instead of) LDL-C, which is what most people currently look at. This series is really blowing my skirt up, because it’s providing all the useful information. We’re learning what the problem is, what causes it, how to test for it, which tests are the best (and why) and I’m sure before too long, we’ll be hearing about what we can do to fix the problem. That’s awesome.

How Bad is Fructose? -Again, I dig on Dr. Guyenet. He always posts interesting things that challenge some of the subtleties of the larger ancestral paradigm, and that’s a good thing. Many people, myself included, have said that fructose, specifically refined fructose, is solely responsible for a lot of our problems. I still think that might be true, but it seems like it’s only a big problem if it’s consumed as part of a hypercaloric regimen. Now, in our modern age, that’s not exactly a challenge, so I think the point still stands. But since we want to be accurate and scientific about this, it’s important to have our subtleties right. There is one thing I’d question, though. If you look way down at the bottom, you’ll see his ** footnote where he asks why we’d worry about the fat rpoduced via DNL if fat isn’t bad. My understanding is that the fat that the liver makes with fructose has some direct effects on leptin sensitivity in the brain. Dr. Lustig mentioned that in one of his talks, I’m pretty sure, though I can’t find it at the moment. So maybe that’s why fructose is so bad? Maybe it has more of an influence on leptin sensitivity than the forms of fat we normally consume. I’m no expert, but that just popped into my head as a possibility.

Dr. Weil Changes His Deal -Sarah’s back, and I think she makes a fair point in this piece. If full-fat dairy is okay because research doesn’t indicate any negative health effects from saturated fat, why are we still taking the skin off of our chicken? Why are we limiting our saturated fat intake to 10% of calories? That’s such an arbitrary number, and it’s really, really low. Maybe he just hasn’t had a chance to update the rest of his website, or maybe he’s worried about making too many big changes too fast? No idea. But anyway, I think this is a good thing overall. The more “mainstream” health/nutrition gurus who see the light regarding fat, the better off we’ll all be. He’s made good progress in coming as far as he has, and we shouldn’t ding him too hard for not coming all the way around to the “praise the lard” camp. He appears to be willing to change, so it seems likely that eventually, he’ll modify the rest of his recommendations as well.

Boldly Going Where No Man Has Gone Before – This is cool. Vitamin Cottage has been putting some really great stuff in their newsletter and on their blog recently. Not only are they my favorite grocery store, they’re also a good source for info!

Breakfast Casserole – This sounds really good. Having more breakfast options is always a good thing, too.

Thanks for reading!

3 comments on “Post-race update and links

  1. Laura says:

    Can you link or post to your mayo recipe? Perhaps I missed it, but yeah, I’d love to have it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

