Many more links

Hey guys! I’ve been working through my reader, trying to read all the things that piled up on me while I was out. There’s some good stuff!

But first, a few things about my life. For one, I’ve got that new baby I mentioned, and if you’re at all interested in such things you should check out my blog devoted to fatherhood. I’ll probably keep pimping that one, since it’s a lot of fun and is a great place to post pictures of my adorable spawn.

Secondly, I have been fully slacking on any kind of strength work for quite a while now, and it was starting to show. So today, I did my go-to “Oh crap I forgot to do any kind of strength work before I jumped in the shower this morning” workout, which I like to call Shower Dips. This is where I do tricep dips on the bench in my shower. It’s not as good as doing actual weight lifting in a gym, but it’s certainly better than nothing. I’ve still got high hopes for doing some other sorts of exercise, but my schedule right now is a little wonky. The nice thing is that the baby has inspired us to start going to bed earlier, which means I wake up earlier, too. That meant I had time to go sprint the other day, and it might mean I have time to do other things, too. Fingers crossed.

Finally, I made myself a couple of deviled eggs last night with the baconnaise and I also used some Plochman’s brown mustard instead of the usual French’s yellow. The eggs were different, but still quite good. The bacon taste was very subtle. I’m going to make some more tonight with the yellow mustard and see if the difference is more noticeable with less interference on the mustard side of things.

Think Twice: How the Gut’s “Second Brain” Influences Mood and Well-Being – A cool piece about the influence that our gut has on our brain and the rest of our body. Fascinating information, and it’s neat to see people taking more of an interest in gut health.

Lower Blood Pressure Naturally – Dr. Guyenet lays out some good ways to bring down blood pressure. Very good stuff, though I’ve heard mixed info on historic levels of salt consumption from different sources. Either way, going to a diet based on whole, quality foods as opposed to drive-through burgers will mean a much lower overall sodium intake, and you can probably season your grassfed meat to your heart’s content and still be eating less than you were before.

Crimson Slime – Making Americans Afraid of Meat. – Dr. Feinman is a little late to the party on this one, but it’s a good read anyhow.

How Green Smoothies Can Devastate Your Health – An interesting piece from the HealthyHomeEconomist. I don’t know that I buy the risk here, unless someone is drinking these in absolutely absurd quantities. Juicing, or…smoothie-ing your veggies can make it easier to consume far more than you would be able to do as whole food, which is one of the reasons I’m not a big fan of shakes and smoothies in the first place. But I also don’t know that I think eating a little more kale is going to do people more harm than good. Still, it’s worth reading and thinking about, I suppose. This might be one of those things that Dr. Attia would call a

Hunter-Gatherers and Horticulturalist Lifestyle Linked to Lower Blood Pressure Increases, Atherosclerosis Risks – This is cool, for sure. Obviously, these are observational only, but they’re pointing toward a more traditional lifestyle being protective. Maybe they might inspire some more clinical trials?

High-fat diet lowered blood sugar and improved blood lipids in diabetics – You’d think that eventually we’d have enough of these studies that everyone would stop arguing, but apparently we have not yet reached the requisite number.

Okay, I need to catch you up on a couple series, too. The first is Dr. Peter Attia’s awesome explanation of everything cholesterol. I got you started on this a while back, and he kept going while I slacked off. Anyway, here’s what we have up to this point:

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part III – How do we measure cholesterol?

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part IV – How does cholesterol actually cause problems?

The Straight Dope on Cholesterol, Part V -Does the size of an LDL particle matter?

Second, you should catch up on “The Skinny on Obesity” from Dr. Lustig.This is a fantastic series as well, mostly about sugar and how it makes us fat and sick. it’s a cool series overall, and we have one more episode to go until it’s complete.

The Skinny on Obesity (Ep. 3): Hunger and Hormones- A Vicious Cycle

The Skinny on Obesity (Ep. 4): Sugar – A Sweet Addiction

The Skinny on Obesity (Ep. 5): Generation XL

The Skinny on Obesity (Ep. 6): A Fast-Paced Fast Food Life

The Skinny on Obesity (Extra): Diet and Lifestyle Tips from UCSF Experts

The Skinny on Obesity (Extra): Four Sweet Tips from Dr. Lustig

Leave a Reply

