Seriously, you don’t even know how many links I’m about to throw at you

For reals, guys. You don’t. I’ve been reading like mad and haven’t been posting enough so I’ve got a giant backlog of links to share. And today is the day you get inundated.

Cinnamon Chipotle Sliders – I don’t actually see anything in these that says chipotle, so maybe they just spontaneously manifest the chipotle flavor due to the other stuff in there? Anyway, they sound great and you know how much I love me some chipotle flavor. I’m definitely going to be doing these sometime soon.

How do I convince someone to try paleo? – An awesome post by Robb Wolf on convincing someone to try paleo. I’m trying to take this perspective myself, but it’s hard for me. My natural inclination when I have something I love is to share it with people I care about. It pains me to see people in pain when I know I could help them. But you can’t make a horse drink water, as they say, so I can end up frustrated. Robb’s post and some of his podcasts with a similar theme have gotten me to a place where I’m going to try not to let it get to me when someone won’t do what I know they should do.

Paleo Diet Risk Assessment – This is another great post from Robb. I’ll let him speak for himself, but essentially he’s working with Reno fire and police organizations to use a paleo diet program to minimize risk of CVD. It’s super awesome, and is saving lives and money for Reno.

The Skinny on Obesity, Part 1 – A great video by the University of California San Francisco. This one features Dr. Lustig in a big way, but also includes some others to add some breadth to the issue. Very well done piece, for sure. Can’t wait for the rest!

The Fattest People in Paleo – I really like this piece. It’s written by the Paleo Parents who also wrote the paleo eating book for kids Eat Like a Dinosaur. Essentially, they’re saying that they catch crap from some folks both in and outside of the paleosphere about not being ripped like Sisson. They’ve come a long way, have literally saved their own lives, and are happy, and healthy for the first time. I think that’s very much worthy of respect, even if they’re not as lean as they’d like to be. As I’ve said, paleo is about a lot more than your body comp. It’s about being healthy, happy, and being able to do the things you love.

Emotional Eating – This is something I think we all do, to some extent. Trying to act like we don’t, or that we shouldn’t isn’t dealing with reality. I pride myself on my willpower, but I still indulge in something tasty and not-great for me on a pretty regular basis. I like these principles, though. If you’re going to treat yourself, fracking treat yourself. Get all the pleasure out of it that you can, and you have a great chance of being legitimately satisfied. I can personally attest to the veracity of the claim that trying to satisfy a craving with a low-end substitute just leads to overconsuming the lame food until you’d have been better off eating the real deal anyway.

Can you handle the truth? – I like this one. It’s philosophical, which you know I enjoy. Just because we’re talking about food doesn’t mean we can’t be deep. This is a discussion about how truth is perceived by people, and specifically by those in the medical community. Definitely worth reading, just because it’s very much worth thinking about in all of our various arenas.

Everyone on the planet should be vegan, right? – Another cool piece about finding your own path. Everyone has to find what works for them, and what works for you now may not work in 5 years. I definitely dig on this idea. I agree with her conclusion, though, that most every diet, long-term, should include some quality animal products. Obviously, I think a paleo diet of some flavor or another is going to work best for most people in most situations, but I’m a zealot.

Okay, that’s about all I have for now. Enjoy!

7 comments on “Seriously, you don’t even know how many links I’m about to throw at you

  1. bachfitness says:

    Great Combination of links, I will check them out, keep up the great info. Thanks!
    Eric Bach, CSCS
    http://ericbachperformance.wordpress.com/

  2. Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss! and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  3. Darcy Thomas says:

    I liked the last one. I will let you know about the others. But good points so far. 😉

  4. flamidwyfe says:

    Awesome links… thanks!

    • Septimus says:

      You’re very welcome! I didn’t even put a dent in the list of links I have waiting, but I thought this was a pretty good collection for one post, at least.

Leave a Reply

