Ketosis – Day 4

Weighed in at 208.6 this morning. That’s a pound down from yesterday. I’m drinking a ton, so I don’t think I’m dehydrating, but I might have been storing my water in my gut than usual, due to my carb-heavy weekend. I’d imagine that most of the weight I’m losing could still be water at this point. I’m already feeling leaner, though. When I look at myself in the mirror, I’m seeing more definition and less extra skin in all the right places. It’s definitely motivating.

My food is pretty consistent these days. Scrambled eggs and chorizo for breakfast, almonds and pistachios for snacks (if needed), spinach salad for lunch, and some kind of meaty dinner. I’ve got some other breakfast options in case I ever get tired of the chorizo and eggs, but I’m still really enjoying it every day so I don’t think there’s much risk of that. But just in case, I got a pack of Niman Ranch apple cinnamon sausages. Those things are amazing, as I’m sure I’ve mentioned before. I’m also using lunch as my primary veggie intake for the day, because making salad in the morning and taking it to work with me for lunch is super easy. I get more than a little greenery and quite a few onions, to boot. Dinners have mostly been pieces of some kind of steak or roast or chicken, and I think that will likely continue.

For those of you who are concerned about the lack of fiber and or nutrients in a ketogenic diet, I want to be clear that I lived for a very long time eating zero salads per week, and having my only vegetable consumption in the form of fried potatoes. Even on a ketogenic diet, my daily greens intake is about ten times what I was eating before. So don’t worry your pretty heads about me. I’m doing just fine, and I’m feeling great

I also wanted to give a shout-out to a number of people who I don’t think actually read the blog, but who deserve some public praise. My friend Sabrina, first off. She’s been eating paleo for only 10 days and has already noticed significant improvements in energy, sleep quality, aches and pains, and in how her clothes fit. Great job! Second, the president of my company overheard me talking about paleo and low-carb with another coworker, and started reducing his carbs. Not going paleo or ketogenic or anything, just trying to reduce it a bit, and has already lost 13 pounds! I didn’t even know he has started anything until he told me about his success the other day. Great job! Finally, my friend Cap has been making some small changes that sound like they’re having a pretty significant result for him. Mostly avoiding fast food, reducing overall carb intake, and making his lunches healthier. Sounds like he’s doing great! Congrats to everyone, and if you do read this, I’d love for you to keep me up to date on your progress.

I think that’s it for now. Just a few quick links to close us out!

Since this blog is usually about the paleo diet, but is supposed to be about an overall natural/paleo lifestyle, I figured I would share this link with you all here. As I may have mentioned, my wife and I are expecting our first baby in April, and we’ve been looking into a lot of natural baby information. So far, Mama Natural is our favorite. We watched her video “Sh*t Crunchy Mamas Say” and laughed our crunchy butts off.

Also, Mark Sisson just posted an article about honey that I think is very much worth reading. Is Honey Good For You?

5 comments on “Ketosis – Day 4

  1. Carla says:

    I don’t know why people think low carb or paleo or primal is low fiber. I’ve never eaten so much produce in my life!!!

    I love hearing about other people like your friends who are having success too. It’s so motivating.

    • Septimus says:

      People have a lot of preconceptions about what different diets involve, without ever having actually done any research on them. They also drastically overestimate the nutritional value of grains for some reason. Even if you say you’re replacing grains with vegetables, they somehow think you’re missing out on something important. I wish I had the same PR machine that grains do, because I would be Supreme Dictator for Life of the planet, no problem.

  2. Isaac says:

    I know you were considering this before I started out with my “30 days without grain”, but who pushed you in the right direction big (well, not as big) guy? Where’s my praise sucka?!

    😀

  3. Isaac says:

    Thank you, that’s all I needed. 😀 Carry on your glorious works good sir!

Leave a Reply

