Ketosis Trial

So, I’ve been thinking for a while and I’ve decided to do a trial ketosis period. I’ve never even been close to ketotic before, as I always have some sweets and some fruit and often some small portions of starch in my diet. And it’s a good, healthy, maintenance diet for me. I can live like this for a very long time and be happy and healthy. I really enjoy all the foods I’m eating, and I have enough wiggle room to enjoy a little bit of the stuff I miss. I’m still staying gluten free, and almost entirely grain and legume free, and the vast majority of my dairy is pastured. Like I’ve mentioned, it’s far from a perfect paleo diet. It’s more of a “Lacto-Primal” diet or something. I eat more than a little cheese, and a whole mess of butter and cream. It’s amazing and I don’t have any issues with it, so I don’t see any reason to stop.

But here’s the thing. I’ve gotten to a maintenance point, and I really want to keep losing a bit more weight. So something has to change. And since my personal motto is “Go big or go home” I figured I’d do a 30-day (or abs, whichever comes first) ketosis diet trial. I have some friends who are doing a non-Paleo low-carb diet right now and they seem to be enjoying it, and I’ve also been inspired by Dr. Attia‘s writings on the subject. So, starting yesterday, I’m going to do my best to limit my total daily carbohydrates to less than 50, ideally less than 30. I’m not weighing and measuring, just avoiding the few sweets and fruits I was eating before, and keeping the spinach salads and some nuts.

So my official weight as of yesterday morning was 212.4 lbs (I had a pretty carb-heavy weekend, so I wasn’t surprised to see that I’d gained a bit) and this morning I was already down to 211.4 lbs. I’m sure a lot of that was getting rid of the water I was no doubt retaining in my digestive system due to carb overconsumption, so I’m not overly excited about it yet. But I’ve got high hopes that this will really help me get to the level of lean I’ve been hoping for, and will also prove to be a valuable experience for me as a lower-carb advocate. I really just want to see how lean I can get, and this seems to be the most efficient way to get there. Wish me luck!

4 comments on “Ketosis Trial

  1. Katina says:

    Just as long as you don’t go annorexic on us…

Leave a Reply

