More links, and a recipe!

Hey guys! Well I had a busy weekend. Made my famous gluten-free lasagna again (recipe to follow) and did a lot of work on the house. I had a little time to read a bit more in Why We Get Fat by Gary Taubes and it’s still just great. It follows the video very closely, which is to be expected, but it offers that reflective quality that keeps me reading nonfiction.

So, what else? Well, I have some cool links for you. I don’t know if you Facebook, but if you do there’s a lot of cool stuff on there. I like it because you get a couple cool links or videos or articles or recipes or whatever just popping up on your feed all day. I could go find them, for sure, but it’s often stuff I wouldn’t have looked for but find interesting anyway.

The Wahls Foundation – This is Dr. Wahls’ Facebook page. She posts some of her videos, and lots of other good stuff. She also has a Youtube channel with a bunch of short videos that have great quick tips.

The Weston A Price Foundation – Weston A. Price was a dentist who traveled the world in the early 20th century and made observations about how various cultures ate and what effects diet had on health. Fascinating stuff, for sure. They’re a great resource these days for recipes, articles, etc. You may recognize the name from Fat Head, which is where I first heard of them. They have an introductory brochure that has a ton of great info in it, and tons of other resources. This is their FB page: WAPF

Denver’s Diet Doctor – If you’re in Denver, this is a great resource. I haven’t actually been to him for a visit yet, but that’s because I’m a big slacker. I’ll be calling to make an appointment shortly. Dr. Gerber is low-carb/paleo friendly and prefers to prevent disease using quality nutrition and lifestyle choices rather than medication. That’s exactly what I want in a doc, personally. His FB feed has great links to other Denver resources, which is how I’ve found some others that I’m liking. This is his main website: Denver’s Diet Doctor

Low Carb Doctors – Great resource if you’re looking for a doctor who is friendly to your low-carb lifestyle! There’s another site called the Paleo Physicians Network, but there aren’t all that many people on there, especially in the Denver area.

Against the Grain Nutrition -Another resource for information on going grain free, whether you have diagnosed celiac disease or just don’t want to eat grains because they make you feel gross.

US Wellness Meats – Good online source for grassfed meats. I haven’t shopped with them yet, but I definitely will be doing so.

Also, this blog post (Food is for Fuel) led me to this article (The Low-Carb Megathread) which is what initially got him to try a low-carb diet. There is a ton of information in there, with a lot of links to great scientific papers, videos, articles, etc. It’s a hell of a primer and a resource, so I recommend it very highly. I’m still reading through, as it’s long, but it’s already clarifying and expanding a lot of things for me. Great stuff!

That should keep you all busy for now, hopefully. Now, for the lasagna recipe. Keep in mind that this isn’t paleo by any stretch, it’s just gluten free. It’s got rice, nightshades and loads of dairy in it. I wouldn’t eat it every day, but it makes for a fantastic meal you can make to share with your non-paleo friends that everyone can enjoy with minimal upset.To make it more paleo you could use zucchini slices or other substitutes for the noodles, but I haven’t actually tried that so I can’t speak to how it’ll turn out.

Time to get everything together. First, this is a very layery lasagna, so you’ll need an appropriate dish. I have a glass baking dish that’s maybe 9×9 and 3-4″ deep, with a glass lid. It’s perfect, but it took some work to find it. If you’re using a wider, shallower dish, you’ll have to use fewer layers. Po you.

For noodles, I like Tinkyada’s brown rice lasagna noodles. They’ve got  good texture, and taste just like wheat-ful lasagna noodles. I also like a couple of different marinara sauces. Barilla’s is great, but can be hard to find. Costco also has a basic marinara that’s pretty good. You’ll also want some ricotta (8 oz) and some mozzarella (16 oz). You need one egg, a pound of ground beef or bulk sausage and some pepperoni slices. The more organic stuff you can get, the better. You can find humanely-raised pepperoni at Vitamin Cottage or Whole Foods pretty easily, and you can also find good quality cheese there. I found some fresh mozzarella at Costco, too. I don’t think it’s pastured, but it’s certainly higher quality than what I’d get at King Soopers. It also costs a lot less, because you have to grate it yourself and grating mozzarella is a giant pain in the ass. I did it, and the lasagna was delicious, but I think I need to chill my cheese before grating. Wobbly doesn’t make for easy grating. You may also want some parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top of the lasagna, if that’s your thing.

Okay, first, get to boiling the noodles. Salt the water, but don’t put oil in it. Oiling your noodles will make you go blind.

At the same time, take your meat and put it into a sauce pan with a lid. You just want to break it up and brown it. I usually hit it with some garlic salt at this point, too.

Now that those things are rolling, mix 8 oz of ricotta with 8 oz of shredded mozzarella and one egg. Just stir it up real good. Grate the other half of your mozzarella into a bowl for later. Take your pepperonis, and get them ready, if necessary. I use about 10 of the deli-sized slices cut into quarters, but you can use the smaller ones, too.

Open up one of the jars of sauce (You’re using sauce in jars, right? Because if you’re making sauce from scratch this blog is too remedial for you.) and pour half of it into the now-brown ground beef, then turn the heat to low or warm and put the lid on. That will just sit for a little.

Preheat your oven to 375º.

Pour like half of the remaining sauce into the bottom of the dish before you lay down your first layer of noodles. You can do more, but you just want enough down there to soak into the bottom noodles and give them some flavor. Okay, now put down your first layer of noodles. Chances are good that they’re not going to fit, because they’re too long. You can cut off about 1/3 of the noodle and use the two pieces to make one full stretch on each layer. That’s what i do with my dish anyway, and it works well. Okay, so now you have the base laid out. Put down about half of your cheese mixture, and spread it out. Then put a layer of pepperoni on top of it. More noodles. Now half of your ground beef/sauce mixture. More noodles. More cheese/pepperoni. Noodles. Beef. Noodles. Now, you top the whole thing with the remaining sauce and then spread the rest of your shredded mozzarella on top. Cool? You should have an intensely layery lasagna with tons of goodness in it.

Cover it with foil and put into the oven for 30 minutes. Take the foil off and cook for another 15 minutes. Take it out and let it sit for 10-15 minutes so everything can set up a bit. Cut into pieces (Yeah, right. Serve this beast in bowls, because it’s messy) and serve with a side of Lactaid tablets for the people who are afflicted. It’s a lot of cheese, for sure. Using pastured and raw cheeses will help with that a great deal, in my experience, but probably won’t solve the issue entirely, depending on your lactose tolerance.

There you go. Enjoy! Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions.

One comment on “More links, and a recipe!

  1. Amanda says:

    Thanks for the links! I found a holistic MD on my side of the world we are going to see tomorrow. I am hoping she is a proponent of healing with food but if not I will check out the doctor dude you linked. Thanks! 7

Leave a Reply

