Agave Nectar

I’d heard a while back on on of Robb Wolf’s podcasts that Agave Nectar wasn’t quite the bee’s knees (or even the dog’s bollocks) because it’s essentially another version of high-fructose corn syrup that comes from a cactus instead of corn. I’d been avoiding it based on that, and based also on the fact that I’m trying to avoid sugars (not very well recently) in general, not just swapping out one for another. I hadn’t really dug into it, though, since it hadn’t affected me directly except for being an ingredient in some treats I enjoy every so often (I’m firmly of the mind that damn near anything consumed in small quantities every few weeks is only going to do so much damage. Except gluten. Gluten is bad.) and is not a major staple of my diet. Still, it never hurts to learn more about that sort of thing in case someone asks about it.

As I was fiddling about with teh intarwerbs today, I ran across this article (Agave Nectar: Good or Bad) that does a much better job of explaining both why agave nectar isn’t a good sweetener as well as some of the issues with any source of fructose that isn’t real, whole fruit. So there you go. Cool article with good information. I also dig on that blog in general, so this is like a double whammy of awesome. Look at that. There’s also this article that is linked at the end of the other article, but it’s worth linking directly here as well: My Natural Sweeteners of Choice

So there you have it. Some more information about how to add a little sweetness to your life without eating a bunch of nasty, chemically-processed trash food. I still wouldn’t go nuts with it, but you’re probably better off with a little honey in your tea than you are with a couple packets of “Pink” or “Blue” or whatever else people use to avoid real foods.

2 comments on “Agave Nectar

  1. Katina says:

    Eat real food. Not too much. Mostly vegetables. 🙂

  2. Septimus says:

    I actually need to read Omnivore’s Dilemma still. Seems like an interesting book, for sure.

Leave a Reply

