Christmas! Also, birthday.

Sorry for the lack of updates, guys. I’ve been very busy with lots of things. Late December is busy for everyone, but extra busy for me, since my birthday is around this time, too. The big 3-0 this year, too. Crazy stuff. However, since I now weigh what I did when I was 18, I don’t feel so bad about the whole getting older thing. I have a wife and a house and a dog and a baby on the way. Life is very good.

My diet definitely took a turn for the worse this week, though. I had a lot of cakes and ice creams and candies and chocolates and everything else. Managed to stay gluten-free, but I was definitely not sticking with my normal, reasonable carb levels with healthy meats and lots of veggies. A friend made me a gluten-free cheesecake that was amazingly delicious and I felt obligated to eat half of it myself so she’d know how much I appreciated her efforts. I appreciated them to the tune of 50,000 calories.

So yeah, things weren’t great. I felt a little sick off and on just because I was throwing so much junk at my body. I’m certain my weight loss came to a screeching halt, too. I’ve got a goal of abs by Valentine’s day (a gift for me and for the wife, right?) so I need to get my butt in gear on it again. I really missed those salads this week. That’s crazy, right? But they’re super good and I really enjoy them. We got a new dressing container that makes everything so much easier. No need to blend anymore, I just put it in the shaker and go to town. So far, I’m super pleased with it. Anything that makes my life easier by way of fewer dishes gets a big thumbs up from me.

I’ve also started doing a few “tub lifts” as I’m calling them. I usually don’t think about working out until I get into the bathroom to get ready in the morning, so I’ve been doing my pushups and dips on the edge of the tub. It’s working well for me so far, especially since I’m still sucking pretty hard at regular pushups on the floor. The garage will eventually be my home gym, but the workout space is full of junk right now, and probably will continue to be for at least the next few weeks. I’m excited to get that all whipped into shape, though. I really liked doing all my ring work, but now there’s a car right where the rings hang, so short of opening the garage door, moving the car, closing the door, and then doing my workout, all directly underneath my pregnant, sleeping wife, I’m not going to do any ring work for a while. I’ll have to keep rolling with doing what I can, though. I’m getting lean enough now that a little extra muscle would look pretty darned good and would probably show up pretty clearly.

Okay, that’s it for now. I’ll keep you posted on my progress this week.

2 comments on “Christmas! Also, birthday.

  1. Katina says:

    So the question is, did Kristie tell you how many calories you ingested before or after you ate half the cake?

Leave a Reply

