Progress update

On a whim, I decided to weigh in this morning. I’m down to 225.0 officially. That puts me at over 20 pounds lost in a little over 5 weeks.

Here’s some of what I’m noticing. My wedding ring, no longer just easy to remove, now threatens to make a break for freedom, specifically when washing my hands or taking a shower. I’m still just barely too large to fit comfortably on the middle hole of my belt when sitting. It’s perfectly good when standing, but just slightly uncomfortable when sitting. I’m not going to push it. I’m still seeing my love handles and some fat front and center, but that’s slowly shrinking away as well. The thing that is exciting me a great deal is my lower abdomen. Right where my hips meet my torso, I’m seeing a significant fat reduction, to the point where I have visible muscle under the skin. I know this because when I saw it, I moved the skin around and the muscle stayed put. I then proceeded to play with my newfound leanness for maybe 10 minutes. It’s not a lot yet, but it’s more than I’ve ever had, that I’m aware of.

Also, last night we tried some gluten-free pizza from a company called Against the Grain. It was really quite good. Not as disgustingly satisfying as my previous favorite (Pizza Hut Meat Lover’s, pan crust), but it tasted…clean. All the ingredients are real, actual foods. The crust is made of tapioca starch, and wasn’t bad at all. It’s not bleached white flour, with all the good baking qualities that entails, but it also didn’t have any negative effects on my gut. I won’t be making it a staple, but I can pretty much guarantee we’ll keep a couple in the freezer for lazy dinners. Always cool to find that sort of thing.

That’s it for now. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

