Organic Eggs and Dairy

What do you think when you see “Organic” on a product? Rolling green fields, smiling animals, happy farmers and sparkly rainbows, no doubt. That’s what the people who put it on packaging want you to think. Unfortunately, that’s often not the case. But with food-labeling guidelines being what they are, how do you know which cage free eggs are from chickens that are actually cage free and which ones are from chickens that spend most of their lives in cages but are occasionally given access to a small concrete patio? Until now, you pretty much didn’t. But I found some great links through Food Renegade that I hope you’ll find as interesting as I did.

Here’s the article: Big-O Organic Eggs

Here are the actual scorecards referenced in the article. I added the one for dairy, since I’ve been wondering about it recently.

Organic Egg Scorecard

Organic Dairy Scorecard

Some of the surprising things on eggs: Nest Fresh and Eggland’s best were both rated very poorly. I had bought both of those brands before, specifically because they’re supposed to be cage free and humane. By any reasonable definition, they are not. I’ll be going with Organic Valley for the most part, I’m thinking. They got a solid rating, and they’re the only brand on the list that I recognize as being widely available in my area. Their prices aren’t bad, either. They also offer a wide range of options, like Omega 3 enriched eggs, fertilized eggs, and a load of other sort of “specialty” stuff.

I’m also going to keep using Organic Valley for my dairy products, since they scored so highly on that, too. I can get their butter, milk, cream, cream cheese, etc. at any of the stores in my area, including some big stores like King Soopers. Knowing that they treat their cows right makes me happy. I’ve been really enjoying their products, but was taking them at their word that everything was pastured and farmer-owned and humane and whatnot. Having independent verification is very cool indeed.

Also, this is another cool site I just found that I thought I would post up here. haven’t poked around much, but i like the idea at least. Onlygrassfed.com

Thanks very much for reading, and I hope this was helpful info!

Leave a Reply

