Day 16

Started the day in Las Vegas, but managed to get home by the end. Breakfast was another round at the MGM Grand Buffet. I had a bacon and cheese omelette, some sausage, bacon, and cranberry juice. Again, still a bit weak. I filled up very quickly, though. Much more quickly than I would have thought, so I didn’t have enough room for the salad that I was planning on eating.

Lunch was a dark chocolate bar, which was okay, but I actually prefer my 85% cocoa dark chocolate. My wife thinks I’m crazy, but there you go.

Dinner was another Apple Pecan Chicken salad from Wendy’s. Jenna was starving her face off, so we needed something right quick after we got home. That salad still strikes me as maybe the best thing I can get from their menu that I actually enjoy. Maybe I need to change my paradigm to “good food or no food” instead of “do your best with what you have.” The paleo diet isn’t keyed quite so much on using a constant stream of carbs to keep your blood sugar stable, so skipping meals isn’t the end of the world. I’m learning more and more about why that is from my book, but it still feels very different from the “5-6 small meals a day” that are commonly suggested these days. The reason for those small meals is because each one invariably contains starch or sugar, so each one is going to increase your blood sugar and insulin. By eating smaller meals every few hours, your blood sugar and insulin don’t spike as much and you end up feeling sort of full or at least tolerable throughout the day. When you’re not eating any starch or sugar, your blood sugar and insulin will naturally stay low and steady, meaning you don’t have fluctuating energy levels or bouts of intense hunger between meals.

Anyway, I can go on for days about this book. I’m reading a library copy right now, but I think I’m going to buy at least three copies: one for myself and two to lend out. It’s just so full of amazing information, and all of it is backed up by studies published in peer-reviewed journals, so it holds the weight of Science! behind it.

Okay, that’s it for now. Back to my normal posting pace tomorrow. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

