Morning – Day 11

Hopped on the scale this morning and was pretty surprised. Looks like I’ve gotten down to 235.4 in 10 days, which is an even 10 pounds in 10 days. That’s a significant change, by any measure. I also spent more than a little time last night marveling at my abs some more. Before I started, I was really worried that I’d lost all of my core muscles due to misuse. Turns out I’d just gotten pudgier than I realized. The muscle is still very much there, it was just cushioned. I’m not back to where I was after my three-month training stint, but I’m definitely making good progress. I got down to 15% body fat, and I’m still up at about 18% right now. That’s somewhere north of 5 more pounds of fat I have to lose before I’m down where I was. My lean mass has definitely decreased since then, too. So I’m working from a lean mass base of 193-195 (depending on which measurement you trust) instead of a lean mass much closer to 200. I really just need to get my butt back to the gym or at least out to the garage to get to work on my rings and kettlebells. Anyway, the main point is that I’ve lost 10 pounds.

Unfortunately, I have no real way of knowing exactly how much of it is fat, how much is water and how much is actual muscle mass. I’ve been going by my calipers, but since it’s just me doing the one-site test, there’s a good chance they haven’t been super accurate. I just ordered this and this today, so I’m going to start using multiple methods to check body fat, and see what they all say. I can’t compare a bioelectric value with a single-site self test, but I can track two to three different measures independently to see if I can work out some kind of an average between them. I would love to have a reasonable way to know how much of the weight I’m losing is fat, so I can adjust my diet and exercise as needed. I know I’m losing weight, but if it’s all muscle mass and water right now, that’s obviously not doing me any good.

Breakfast was some pulled pork and a couple of almonds. I did get some more bacon and sausage last night at Costco, but didn’t have a chance to cook it up. They’re both large packages, so I’m thinking I may break them down into more manageable sizes. I don’t need a full pound of bacon all at once, really. If I cook it up, that just means I’ll have to eat it before it goes bad. If I break it down into half-pound servings while it’s still unfrozen, that makes it much easier to cook as much as I’m likely to need. I’m going to have to do the same thing with the sausage. It’s some Jimmy Dean All Natural something or other.  In any case, it’s a relatively decent version of breakfast sausage. There’s a little salt and sugar and seasoning in it, but very minimal. Until I actually learn how to make my own sausages, it’s probably going to be the best I can do. I’m thinking the sausage will get split into little half pound packs or something, so I can make and cook it up in patty form and have a good breakfast meat for a few days without it going all gross on me. Good breakfast meat is important. I can get by eating pulled pork or chicken breast or whatever, but eggs and bacon and sausage definitely hit the spot a little better.

I think that’s it for now. Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

