Evening – Day 9

Dinner tonight was some purple cauliflower (yeah, for real) sautéed in coconut oil and some of my slow cooked pork. The pork was really good, and had enough fat in it so it wasn’t super dry. The cauliflower was good too, but I’m going to think about new ways to prepare it for next time. I’m not sure if it was because of the coconut oil or if I tried to cook it at too high a heat or something, but it ended up not being cooked through very well. Next time, I might toss it in melted butter or coconut oil and then put it in the oven. Kristie made some that way and it was really good. I’d imagine some seasoning would help, too.

So I’m really mixing up my foods, which i think is probably good. Eating a lot of beef, but also plenty of chicken and some pork. Getting a huge variety of veggies, too. Broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, carrots, asparagus, onions, bell peppers, celery, lettuce, olives…the list goes on. Eating a couple fruits here and there, too.

Here’s something I’m going to do an experiment on, though. The last few times I’ve tried fruits that would normally give me oral allergy symptoms (non-organic grapes being the one that springs to mind), I haven’t had them. I’ve been eating plenty of raw veggies, raw nuts, etc, and those would usually get me as well and I haven’t been seeing it. I’m really curious to see if that trend continues.

Also, I’ve started eating very small amounts (grams, not ounces) or dark chocolate every now and again. I’m just eating what we have right now, but I’ll be buying some of the super duper dark stuff, since that’s a lot of good stuff and very little bad stuff. So far, not noticing any problems with it and the weight is still coming off like gangbusters.

Leave a Reply

