More links, as I chew through my Google Reader backlog

Hey all! Back again, with a lot of great links. Most are from The Paleo Mom, since I hadn’t read her posts in far too long and she always has a ton of great ones. I’ll pull a few from other places, too, and probably see if I can throw a few from my overflowing link bucket into the mix, too. Gotta get these things out there!

The Importance of Fish in Our Diets – I’m still not where I’d like to be with my seafood consumption, but I’m to probably one serving a week. It’s not enough, but it’s moving the right direction, at least.

Artichoke Stuffed Artichoke – This sounds really good! I love artichokes, but never really make them myself. I’d love to start though, since they’re so tasty and give me a good excuse to eat something dippable (I’m like a giant, hairy 4-year old).

Coconut Oil Poached Tilapia – More recipes for cooking fish means more chance I’ll cook fish, right? Seems like a solid plan.

Carbohydrate Recommendations for Kids – This makes a lot of sense to me. Kids need some protein and fat as building blocks for their growing structures, and need plenty of carbohydrate to fuel their activity and growth. I don’t think it makes sense to put a child on a very low carb diet unless they’re already overweight and metabolically broken. As long as they’re healthy and active, just let them eat what they want. I really like the recommendation to present them with a variety of choices and let them eat what they want, since I’ve also heard that helps to avoid picky eaters.

Is Fermented Cod Liver Oil Really All That Magical? – Yes? It certainly seems like it is. I don’t eat many organ meats at all, so supplementing with some good quality CLO just seems like a smart move on my part. I also go with the orange-flavored capsules, and they do has a flavor to them (more of a smell, I’d say) and it is distinctly not orange. I don’t get fishy burps from the pills though, and honestly I’m a freaking adult. I can take a pill that’s good for my health even if I don’t love the flavor.

The Ingredient Allowed in Organic Food That Can Cause Cancer – It’s carageenan, which we were very specifically avoiding while on the Whole 30, but it sounds like it’s worth being adamant about all the time. I have a hunch (going to be testing soon) that the carageenan in the cream we typically buy (Organic Valley) is what is causing digestive upset for me and my wife, rather than the dairy itself. Kalona heavy cream contains no carageenan, so we’ll be getting that and seeing if we have the same response to it as we have been to OV. I’m hoping not, but Science! will tell us for sure.

Recycled Toilet Paper Not Such A Great Idea After All – Keeping BPA away from your sensitive areas seems like a safe bet. I won’t go far as to say “don’t trust chemicals” because…everything is chemicals. But I will at least say that identified, potentially harmful chemicals don’t need to be in close proximity to my personal areas. That seems reasonable, right?

That’s probably enough for one day. I’ll try to get back tomorrow with more. Thanks for reading!

 

2 comments on “More links, as I chew through my Google Reader backlog

  1. flamidwyfe says:

    Here’s my Paleo friendly tilapia recipe. I am also not a big fan of fish, but this was YUMMY!

    http://flamidwyfe.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/dukan-recipe-pan-fried-tilapia/

    Great links, as usual! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

