Big Breakfast

It’s like 2:30 and I’m just now starting to get hungry for lunch. I had a pretty late breakfast, which is probably part of it. I think I ate around 9:30 this morning, once I got to work. I brought a banana, two hard boiled eggs and one of my chorizo links. Seriously, you guys. That’s a hell of a breakfast. I haven’t had any urges to snack at all, which is precisely what I was going for. I think I’ll get my lunch together shortly, and see how that treats me.

I have to say, I’m liking this. I remember I had done some similar meals before and felt great after eating them. Stayed full and satisfied for a good long while. They’re quick, too. I boil my eggs in batches of a dozen and eat two per weekday so a dozen will last me all week. The chorizo, which I know I should be pan-frying or grilling or something actually comes out delicious from the microwave at work so that makes things simpler, too. If I’m at home, and I have time, I’ll cook and eat my breakfast. But if I’m in a rush it’s nice to be able to toss some things in a tupper and bring them with me so I can eat at my desk. So anyway, I’m going to try to stick with this for a bit. I’ll probably mix up the meats (sausage patties, ham steak, bacon, etc.) but i really like doing a couple eggs for breakfast most days of the week. We get pastured eggs, so they’re just full of tons of good stuff, and keep me full for a long time. The only thing i don’t love about boiled eggs is the dry texture they tend to have, and that’s completely mitigated by adding some fatty meat to the mix. Perfection.

Also, I’ve been barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen the past few nights. Well, not actually barefoot. I was wearing my Chucks. And I’m not pregnant, technically. Funny story about that, though. My wife and I are like fairytale soulmates, and we’re kind of silly about it sometimes without even meaning to. Anyway, my wife refers to things like “our placenta” and the like without really meaning to. I think it’s adorable. So I’m not pregnant, even though I’m apparently part-owner of a placenta. Back to the story. I made lasagnas night before last and froze them, and last night I made a double batch of my world-famous gluten-free zuppa toscana. I say world famous because all the people who know about it live on the world. I’m pretty sure that counts. I’m trying to get this stuff prepped because our baby will be here literally any day now (we’re at 40 weeks + 2 today) and we don’t want to have to worry about cooking in the first few days of having him around. So we’ve got some food saved up now, that will hopefully last us for a while. I’m being optimistic and thinking I’ll still be up for doing a little basic food prep, but we’ll have to see.

I’ve also been talking with Heba of MyLifeinaPyramid in the comments of one of my other posts, and she’s gotten me all jazzed about raw milk again. She has a great post about her raw milk journey, and reading it has inspired me to get my proverbial butt in gear and figure out some local sources for my family. Here’s a quick recap of our own journey: My wife and I have always been lactose intolerant. Me, moreso than her. We got the tablets and those worked well most of the time for us. We got curious about doing raw dairy, and went to a meetup group about it to get some more info. Loved the people, loved the milk, but decided it wasn’t for us at that time. We just weren’t drinking much milk, so it didn’t seem to make sense. Time goes by. Then, I got into my whole paleo thing, we started buying grassfed dairy products and noticed that it didn’t make us sick, even without the tablets. Then, trying to go back to conventional dairy products, I felt even worse. Even with a lactase tablet, it would just make me incredibly sick to my stomach. So we’ve been doing that for a while now, trying and liking a lot of different brands of grassfed milk, butter and cheese. We’ve also found Kalona, which is low-temp vat pasteurized and non-homogenized. It’s not raw, but it’s about as close as we can get from a store. Anyway, since switching to the grassfed stuff and not needing the pills anymore, we actually go through a fair bit of milk. Not a ton, but much more than we used to. So it seems like it might be a good time to start looking into the raw thing again. I’m going to write an email to my local WAPF leader and see what info I can get. I’ll keep you all posted, of course.

Okay, I’m calling it a day. Thanks for reading!

 

6 comments on “Big Breakfast

  1. flamidwyfe says:

    I totally LOVE that you know that you guys are 40+2… and I’m happy you’re hanging out waiting for baby to make their entrance when they are ready :)

    In regard to the eggs… I eat 5 a day… yes, 5 (only 1 yolk though) and I make them this way… so much more yummy than plain old boiled eggs… http://flamidwyfe.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/dukan-day-142-its-funday-monday-and-a-whoosh/

    You should give them a try!

    Birth blessings for a safe journey earthside for your baby :)

    • Septimus says:

      Thanks! I’m a pretty active dad, I guess. I’ve been to every class session, every prenatal appointment, even her belly-casting. Pretty much everything we’ve done to prep for the baby, I’ve been there. Now that I write that all out, I feel a little sorry for my wife that she can’t get rid of me for even 5 minutes. But whatever. She wanted to spend the rest of her life with me, so she’s getting what she paid for, I guess.

      Those eggs look really cool! I love the pattern on them and they sound like they’d be really tasty, too. We’ll definitely have to give them a try sometime. Thanks again!

  2. Heba says:

    Hey! Thanks for the shout out again :) I’m glad you liked the raw milk article … I definitely don’t think everyone should drink milk, but if you decide to include some dairy in your diet, I believe that grass-fed, raw from A2 cows is best (given what I’ve read and come across). I don’t know how big of a deal the A2 thing is, but if you have access to it and it’s within your budget, it doesn’t hurt! Until you find that (and if you still want to do dairy), a low-temp pasteurized grass-fed organic yogurt (made with whole milk) is next to best, and it sounds like you’ve already found a good brand that fits this description.

    It must be so exciting to be expecting a little one – hopefully it will be a smooth delivery and a manageable and enjoyable first few weeks for your family! I have no kids yet, but I imagine I would be interested in as natural a birth as possible … we’ll see how that goes if/when the day comes. ;)

    Your eggs-and-sausage breakfast sounds great, and I’ve found that something similar with eggs keeps me full till lunchtime too (I sometimes skip ‘lunch’ and just have a yogurt and fruit smoothie instead if I’m not that hungry. I use the opportunity to add in a lotta fresh ginger, chia seeds, spices, etc that I wouldn’t get eating regular meals). That’s another idea for you if you can manage to have a couple of minutes to throw something into a blender and take it in a travel mug.

    • Septimus says:

      You’re very welcome! It’s a great resource, for sure. We also recently found that Organic Valley (who do a lot of great grassfed dairy products) have a new, non-homogenized version of their milk called “Grassmilk”. I don’t think it’s low-temp pasteurized, but it’s cool to see more people getting onto the “closer to the cow” kind of paradigm. Fingers crossed that it’s a trend that spreads!

      We’re definitely interested in natural birth. We’re having the baby in a hospital, but with a midwife and doula, and we took a Hypnobirthing class. My whole evolutionary perspective on diet has influenced my thoughts on birth, for sure. We’ve always been fans of natural birth (my wife has been passionate about it her whole life, and got me on board years ago) but I hadn’t really gotten into the philosophy behind it until I started trying to think of everything from an evolutionary framework. If humans have been doing this for hundreds of thousands or millions of years, seems like things would be working pretty well by now. It doesn’t mean I don’t think there’s a place for emergency medicine in an actual emergency, but I don’t think we need to treat every birth as a medical problem by default, you know?

Leave a Reply

