Just a quick post

Hey everyone! Just wanted to share a few links and tell you all about my weekend.

I did pretty well cutting my sugar this weekend. We worked hard on Saturday (after 10-12 hours working on my house, I’ll often feel like something sweet) and had friends over on Sunday so I wasn’t perfect, but I was much better than I have been in recent weeks. I made grassfed beef burgers with gluten free buns from Udi’s, which are the only gluten free bread products we’ve found that are actually good. They need to be toasted to be really good, but once they’re all crispy and brown they taste just great. I don’t like doing fake grain products but when I have friends coming over, I tend to bend my rules a little. I still stick with my “Don’t eat anything that makes you feel sick” rule, because that just makes sense. So anyway, we got through the weekend pretty well, and I had fun chasing my dog around and working on the house. As far as food goes otherwise, we made sausage and potatoes (I’ve added quite a bit of potato back into my diet, with no ill effects either to how I feel or to my waistline, so I’m thinking I’m good to go on those) for dinner and hashbrowns cooked in bacon fat for breakfast. We also made some eggs, and my wife even made us pancakes with Pamela’s baking mix. We’ve finally gotten our kitchen more or less in order and she was excited about getting to make something. Again, it’s not an every day thing, and it was a lot of fun to be cooking together in the new kitchen, and then eating at our dining room table. Overall, it was one of the best mornings I’ve had in a long time.

My weight has remained consistently in the 207-209 range still. I’m still feeling like I’m at a pretty comfortable level of leanness, so it’s not bugging me that I haven’t lost anymore in a while. I haven’t been sleeping as much or as well as I know I should, but I’m hoping that having the house mostly done now (Yay!) will help me focus on sleeping. I’ve also figured out the kind of exercise my dog enjoys, which is mostly me chasing her around the back yard. That’s not going to do it for training for running a 10k next month, I don’t think. I’m sure I’ll get plenty of cardio benefit from it, but I need to practice my running technique, since I’ve been away from it for so long. I’m not going to go nuts, but I do want to run 5k once or twice a week. It’s warming up and lightening earlier, so fingers crossed that I can make that happen. I’m also going to try to get back to my Convict Conditioning work because I really enjoyed that. I’ll keep you all posted on how those things go.

Okay, that’s about all for me personally. Now for links.

Meatloaf Cupcakes – I love me some meatloaf, but my wife isn’t a huge fan. I’m convinced that at least part of that is because i haven’t done enough experimentation with different recipes to find one she’ll like. Alternately, I might not have presented the meat loaf in an adorable enough format for her tastes. Meatloaf cupcakes with mashed sweet potato frosting? Problem solved.

Paleo vs. Vegan – This is a really fair, balanced, and reasonable breakdown of the debate between the two diets/lifestyles. They got folks who are recognized authorities on either side and interviewed them, then showed the answers to each question from each side. I still think paleo wins because bacon and butter and steak and cheese, but there’s a lot to be said for any diet that cuts out processed foods and focuses on nutrient density and quality. I also like that at least one or two of the vegan folks recognized that grains can be problematic.

The Skinny on Obesity: Episode 2 – More great info. I’m liking this series a great deal and can’t wait for the next episode!

I’m out for now. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

