Quiet. Too quiet.

Sorry I haven’t been posting, gang. Things are still going very well (I seem to be putting on even more muscle without gaining fat) and I’m reading a ton, just haven’t had time to post much. So here’s my update. I’ve gotten through all the leftovers from my in-laws’ visit, which means I can, in theory, get back to eating a relatively lower-carb, dairy-light, meat-heavy, veggie-heavy sort of deal. So far, that hasn’t actually been the case, but today has been a great start. Breakfast was two hard boiled eggs and a handful of blueberries. Lunch is my normal salad, plus some chicken pieces for extra staying power. Dinner at this point is a mystery, but I’ll figure something out.

My workouts have gotten a little more structured lately. A friend told me about this bodyweight exercise book called Convict Conditioning. I’m still just kinda poking at it, but so far it’s really appealing to me. I’m going to make an effort to read it and start the program very soon. I’ve already been doing some of it, but I like the way he structures his progressions, and it would be nice to have an actual program rather than just fiddling around.

I’ve also gotten another indication that my cardio capacity has magically increased. I actually sprinted from my mailbox to my house with my dog (who doesn’t sprint quite as fast as I do on open ground, due to her stumpy, adorable legs) the other day and wasn’t out of breath at all. It was weird. It’s not a huge distance, but it’s maybe 100 yards or so? And I ran it, the whole way, very nearly as fast as I could. I got into the house and my breathing and heart rate were both completely normal. I’m really curious to go see what this is worth on a trail where I’m actually trying to push myself, rather than just trying to get places.

What else? Well our kitchen is in the middle of a remodel, so cooking is very challenging right now. I’m not sure how long we’ll be in this position, but it’s making it hard to make real food. We don’t have an actual oven or a stove at the moment, and won’t have a sink shortly. Definitely not the best situation for cooking at home, to say the least. We’ll survive, though. I’m anticipating more grilling, which is always a good thing.

I shaved off my beard! I hadn’t done so for a very long time (like a year and a half) and the last time I was very heavy. It was really unpleasant for everyone involved. So now that I’m lean for the first time since…ever, I wanted to see what my face looks like. So here, for your viewing pleasure, is my face:

I know, right? I’m growing it back immediately.

Also, I’ve started up a new blog, because I literally cannot stop writing blogs, it would appear. It’s called Fatherhood for Geeks, and it’s going to be a place where I can post stuff about being a new dad (I’ve got 4-8 weeks until that happens, depending on the little man’s schedule). We’re going to be keeping him as natural as possible, so I’ll also be posting product reviews for various things, as well as recipes for baby food when the time comes for that. Should be fun, and a great way for me to organize and record my experiences. I’m really excited about being a dad, so I think it should be fun to write and hopefully to read.

Speaking of which, here are some links, the first of which is related to babies.

Homemade Diaper Cream – It’s whipped coconut oil! For reals, is there anything coconut oil can’t do? I’m running out of things I don’t use it for. I’m currently using it as an oral rinse, a moisturizer and I’m going to try to shave with it. You know, when I’m over the terror of my clean-shaven face enough to want to shave again.

Paleo Mayonnaise – This is like the 6th time I’ve posted a link about paleo mayonnaise, but this time it’s actually available for purchase. If you don’t want to bother making it at home, but you still want to have mayo without soy and canola in it, this is the way to go. Unfortunately, commercially-available “olive oil mayonnaise” is usually anything but. This review explains it. And no, I still haven’t made my mayo. I don’t have a kitchen. Leave me alone.

Top 9 Things I’ve Learned From a Hippie This Year – Modg’s blog is always entertaining, and it sounds like someone’s giving her some good advice. The naturopath who poked at her arm to determine her son shouldn’t be eating wheat, soy and dairy may be a quack (I don’t have to poke anyone’s arm to tell them that), but it’s good advice anyway. A lot of the parenting stuff is really resonating with me as I try to figure out how we want to raise our son. I’m thinking we’ll be very keen on letting him play and get dirty and learn from his own experience. At least I’m hoping we will. I’m at turns insanely overprotective and mind-bogglingly permissive with our dog (who we raise pretty much as our own flesh and blood). My parenting style will be best described as “obsessive and unpredictable” I’m guessing.

How Bad Science and Big Business Created the Obesity Epidemic – A really interesting lecture that’s very reminiscent of a few others I’ve posted. If you’re big on repetition or subtle differences in information, then I’m your man.

Tom Naughton’s ORI Speech – Tom went to Washington to tell congress why the American people are trusting the establishment authorities less and looking to the internet more. Like it or not, this is definitely a trend, especially in nutrition. Tom explains it very well, of course.

How Men’s Minds Reveal the Wisdom of Women’s Bodies – This is a really interesting piece. Not sure if everything in it is true (what do I know about evolutionary psychology?) but the ideas are intriguing and worthy of investigation if nothing else.

Okay, that’s enough for now. Thanks for reading!

2 comments on “Quiet. Too quiet.

  1. Katina says:

    Oh good! fatherhood for geeks. I will go over there and post a blog entry I did about what our kids would wear if we ever had kids. good reads I tells ya.

Leave a Reply

