Ketosis – Day 8

Hello again, friends. So it has been a full week of eating very little carbs for me, and I’m still feeling great. I weighed in at 206.8 today, with some fluctuation between 206 and 208 over the weekend. I think I’m just going to back off to doing Monday morning weigh-ins again, since tracking weight daily inserts a lot of variation. If I’m up in weight a few weeks in a row, that’s a sign that something I’m doing is wrong enough to be a major problem. Being down or up for just a day or two in a row indicates nothing more than variations in hydration, when I ate my dinner the night before, etc. So I’m calling this 6 real pounds lost in a week, with the understanding that some of it was certainly water weight.

So how is the diet going other than that? Really well, actually. I’m eating a lot of great foods that I really enjoy. Bacon, beef, butter, some veggies, chicken, sausage, cheese, cream, etc. The weird thing is that I’m missing some foods, moreso than when starting the basic paleo gig. Fruits, really. I would’ve thought I’d be missing my coconut milk ice cream or my dark chocolate, but I honestly don’t really crave that. What sounds great to me now is a giant bowl of berries covered with heavy cream and maybe a little honey. I may give in tomorrow and have a treat with my valentine.

I’ve also been peeing on sticks, which is great fun. I got some ketone test strips from the pharmacy, and I’ve been testing my ketones in the morning and sometimes in the evening. Right now, I’m somewhere between “moderate” and “large” amounts of ketones. The weight is coming off at a hefty clip, and I’m keeping my carbs very low, so I’m convinced that I’m in a ketogenic state. I haven’t noticed any lethargy or bad breath, or other “symptoms” of ketosis, so maybe I’m just wired up to do well on limited carbs? No idea, really.

Really, aside from wanting to go face first into a bowl of blueberries, I’m not seeing any downsides to ketosis. I have plenty of energy all day, I don’t feel super hungry between meals, and I’m getting leaner by the day. It’s all roses, as far as I can tell. I will definitely keep you all posted, though, like I do.

Before I leave, I’ll share some links. Someone at Men’s Health is on point, and I’ve really been enjoying a few articles I found there.

Saturated Fat – A great breakdown on the science and history of saturated fat.

Glycemic Index – Fantastic explanation of what the GI is and why it’s not as cool as you might think.

Cure Diabetes – Does what it says on the tin

Enjoy, and thanks for reading!

4 comments on “Ketosis – Day 8

  1. Carla says:

    I’m glad you are doing so well!!! It is very motivating to read about your successes every day. I found the muscles in my legs started to feel kind of weak, so I added in a serving of fruit this week and they felt better, but then I didn’t lose very much weight this week, so I guess it’s all a fine balance!

    • Septimus says:

      Thanks! I haven’t noticed any muscle weakness so far, but I haven’t been working out intensely enough to burn through my glycogen stores, either. My understanding is that if you get your carbs within 30 minutes after your workout, you’ll replenish your glycogen without slowing down your weight loss. Not sure, because I haven’t tried it, but it might be worth a shot?

      • Carla says:

        I work out later in the evening – I am always hesitant to eat carbs later in the day! So far I’ve been having a serving of fruit with breakfast or mid morning with some nuts, and another fruit mid afternoon. We’ll see how the weight loss goes…

      • Septimus says:

        Well you’re doing great, so whatever you’ve been doing seems like it’s working. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

