Just another quick one

Sorry for not posting more, everyone. Work has been crazy and we’re really working hard on the house right now. Trying to get hardwood floors into all the upstairs bedrooms by this weekend, if possible! Anyway, I’m still reading a little, just not writing as much as I’d like.

Just found this site today, while reading Tabues’ newest blog post. Dr. Peter Attia’s War on Insulin

Fascinating stuff, of course, but most of it is just a slightly different version of things I’ve read before. At this point, I don’t think there’s any completely new information on the low-carb gig out there for me. Everyone just has a slightly different way of saying things, or maybe a little more depth in one area as opposed to another. I’m still enjoying all of it, though, and Peter Attia has a really great balance of clarity and depth.

So, read a few of these when you have a chance:

About Me

Sugar 101

How Can I Lose Weight?

Also, check out the videos here. Very cool stuff, explained clearly for the layman, but without dumbing down.

I’m trying very hard to start digging into the more technical side of all of this stuff, and people like Dr. Attia are helping a great deal. I don’t have a background in science or biology, and a lot of the nitty gritty just makes my eyes glaze over. I’m trying to learn it, though, because I think knowing how these things work makes it easy to understand why we’re doing what we’re doing. There’s also just so much great science being done on all of these issues. There are studies being done right now to see how a ketogenic diet can help with alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s and the rest. Not just anecdotal evidence anymore, but actual clinical trials. Someday soon, maybe a low-carb diet will be a viable, recognized prescription for these problems like it already is for epilepsy. We’re also seeing that a grain-free, dairy-free diet is becoming more of a standard treatment for autism. How much longer before we start realizing that these diets are beneficial for everyone, and the positive effects are just more visible in folks with these issues, not necessarily only effective for them? I’m hoping not much longer. I’ll keep reading and writing and trying to spread the good word.

A couple posts I have in mind: Fructose is the devil, Flow Chart of Metabolic Derangement, Paleo/Low-Carb Breakfasts

Hopefully soon, everyone!

Leave a Reply

