Day 14

Breakfast yesterday was a salad from the airport. It has boiled eggs, cheese, turkey and roast beef on it, and I got it with a packet of Ken’s Steakhouse vinaigrette. It wasn’t very good and it made me feel pretty gross. Not sure if it was too much cheese or what, but my stomach really bothered me for a while afterward.

That was a late breakfast, so I had a Larabar and some nuts for an early snack, and then a little more later to tide me over until dinner.

Dinner was at a wedding for some friends in Las Vegas. They had very tasty appetizers before the ceremony, including some mini burgers with chipotle mayo. Without the bun, it made for a reasonably paleo snack. They also had some dried cranberries and pecans on the cheese plate, so those were tasty. The actual meal was a caesar salad, filet mignon, roasted chicken, a forkful of garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. All of it was excellent, and except for the wedding cake (which I totally ate) it was pretty reasonable food. I did totally drink some ginger ale for the toast and maybe half of my wife’s shirley temple. Those were not reasonable drinks.

It also turns out that the bride lost a bunch of weight by eating a paleo-esque diet before the wedding. I talked to her a bit about it, and it sounds like she mainly ate chicken and fish along with a lot of veggies. It was cool to hear from yet another person for whom cutting gluten had worked so well. She even let me geek out at her about Omega 3/6 balance and hyperinsulinemia and whatnot.

I’m trying to be good while traveling, but it’s not super easy. You never know exactly what’s in anything, and there’s only so many choices you have available. I’m doing my best, but I understand now why the 80/20 rule is so big for paleo eaters. You do the best you can at home and do the best you can on the road, but it’s almost impossible to be perfect when you don’t know exactly what’s in the food you’re eating.

My weight and body fat are still higher than I’d like, according to my last checks. I’m thinking that I need to sort of reboot my numbers. My single-site testing gig doesn’t seem to jive with the other sources I have. When I get back home, I’m going to restart my charts with my weight and body fat based on the Omron, I’m thinking. I’ve done a little bit of futzing with it, and as long as I hold it consistently, it gives me consistent results. I’ve tried with and without a shirt, with and without shoes, before and after peeing, drinking, eating, etc. It’s not exact every time, but it’s very consistent overall. It’s not giving me the results I want to see, but it may be showing me a picture that’s closer to reality. Unfortunately, it’s pretty tough to compare to the measurements I was doing, since I have no way of knowing if those were even a little bit right. I followed the instructions to the best of my ability, but that’s no guarantee. I think the best bet is to assume that my scale is giving me accurate numbers, so I at least have one consistent means of comparison. We’ll see what that ends up meaning for me when I get back. It may mean that I’m at a much lower lean mass than I had thought. Since water is considered part of lean mass, a significant drop in lean mass is sort of expected. Mostly, I’m trying to make myself feel better. I don’t think I’ve been losing as much fat as I thought I was, or more accurately, I had more fat to lose than I originally thought. So I may have been losing fat, but I don’t think my body fat % is as low as I was thinking. So that’s disappointing, but I’d always rather know the truth. I just need to redouble my efforts to reach my goals. On the plus side, the gains I’ve made are still significant and encouraging,. My clothes still fit better and my face definitely looks thinner. I trimmed my beard down to a reasonable level for the wedding, and I look so much thinner in the face now. I hadn’t really seen it before, but now I really do. I feel like I look younger and leaner, so even though I know my body fat is much higher than I thought, I’m still making solid progress.

I’m also still reading “Primal Body, Primal Mind” by Nora Gedgaudas. It is seriously blowing my mind. It’s pretty dense and serious, so I don’t know if it would be the book I would suggest to someone who is just looking for more information on the paleo diet, but for someone who is a little skeptical, or for someone who is already mostly on board but wants more information, it’s awesome. She goes through all of the issues that gluten and soy can cause, and there are a lot of them. She also talks about how the gut is supposed to operate, which was very interesting. There’s so much about the operation of the body I just don’t know. I’m learning a lot more, though. The more I learn, the more I realize I just can’t go back to the Standard American Diet. I’m not going to be super religious about it, so at some point I may have some candy/cake/pizza, etc, but it is never going to be a major part of my diet again. It’s not perfect, but I can live with it, and that’s what matters.

Leave a Reply

